You’re Perfectly Imperfect (and that’s okay)

Yup, you are what the title says. Perfectly imperfect.

If you’re on a computer or a mobile device reading this blog post, congratulations! You’re probably a millennial or 30+ years old who probably uses Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat and find yourself constantly comparing your life to others based on their posts and finding yourself envious. You have the need and desire to live a life that’s worth posting on social media to show others how perfectly fine you are, when in fact, you’re not.

You’re far from being perfect. You’re imperfect. You hate your job. You feel distant from friends. You hate the acne, wrinkles, sunspots on your skin. You hate the extra blubber hanging around your arms, tummy, and legs. You feel too stupid to graduate Magna Cum Laude. You feel like you never have enough money. You feel like you don’t know what to do with your life. You feel like you’ll never find the love of your life. And worst of all, you feel worthless and hopeless.

Don’t worry, you’re not alone. Been there, done that. You aren’t human if you’ve never found yourself in those situations.

Here’s why your life isn’t perfect and you experience all those wretched things I listed in the previous paragraph:

BECAUSE YOU’RE FUCKING HUMAN AND WERE DESIGNED TO BE IMPERFECT IN ORDER TO FULLY EXPERIENCE LIFE ON EARTH. 

Take a moment to realize living a life that’s so perfect. Sounds great for like 2 seconds….then you realize, BORING. Who doesn’t love an emotional rollercoaster and drama here and there in their lives??

Being perfect is basically being a robot and living a plateaued life.

 

I can’t say I’m perfectly content with where I am in life and who I am. But what I can share is…the first baby step of happiness.

Not too long ago, I found that being one step closer to being content with who I am and where I am is accepting myself and loving myself. I took a step back and stopped seeking for acceptance and affirmation from others because it was difficult when I couldn’t even accept myself.

I’m writing this post to tell you that you matter. For a moment, block out the affirmation you’re seeking from others and accept every flaw about yourself and embrace it.

You are your biggest supporter. Only you can love yourself the most. I’d be lying if I told you you’re perfect because…no one is. But what I can tell you is that you were purposely designed to be who you are. You want that dream summer body of yours? First accept the state of your body as is and tell yourself you want to ENHANCE your external beauty. You think you have a shitty personality? You don’t need to work so hard to be a new person. Just ENHANCE your personality to a less shittier version of yourself. You hate your job or don’t know what to do? Take the time to search for what makes you happy emotionally and financially. If that means quitting your corporate slave lifestyle to become a photographer, THEN SO BE IT. If people give you shit or hinder you from enhancing yourself into trying to be the best version of yourself, FUCK THEM.

Do you know what motivates me when I want to change something about me? Starting to accept me for who I am and what I’m worth and can potentially be worth and then succeeding. Success is the best form of revenge.

Don’t ever give up or take the short route. Push through. Show all those fuckers who didn’t believe in you that you didn’t need them to be the best version of yourself.

Don’t ever doubt yourself. Stick around long enough to see the results of all your hard work.

If you’re not your biggest supporter and feel like no one else is, I am. I support you.

Leave a Reply

