Fake It ‘Til You Make It (the pursuit of happiness and authenticity)

We’ve all heard the phrase, “fake it ’til you make it.” Is that true? If we really fake it, can we make it? I believe so.

Do you ever have that one person in your life who is just so genuinely happy and nice ALL the time and you’re like, how????

There are a few people I know who are always so happy and nice that’s it’s almost contagious. I mean, there are times I’m just like, okay…please tone it down. Then there are times when I realize I want to be that type of person. I look up to them and grow jealous of how they’re naturally like that. They’re loved by everyone. They’re always good company.

I wish I was my own role model.

That’s when it hit me. I want to fake it ’til I make it. I want to challenge myself to be the best version of myself without the help of others. I want to be my own role model.

I came across a quote from Kurt Cobain this week and this is what he said:

Wanting to be someone else is a waste of the person you are.

He couldn’t have said it any better than that. Seriously, why waste our time wishing we were someone else, when in fact, we can be the person we want to be?? I want to make the most of who I can be.

Normally, when I do any sort of challenges, I make it 5 days (Monday-Friday). But because this idea hit me on a Thursday, I want to just challenge myself for a full week.

Here’s my current situation:

I’m discontent. I work 40 hours a week in a cubicle. My job is the same thing every day. Nothing new or exciting. I’m almost at the point where I wake up dreading to go to work. It’s been almost a year since I’ve been living in a new city and still have basically 0 friends and also still a single pringle. I literally have nothing to look forward to. My life is plateaued. Nothing excites me. If you saw me out on the streets, you don’t see a girl genuinely smiling and being happy. You just see a girl.

 

Here’s what I want to do:

I want to find joy in the little things and count my blessings. I want to make use of every minute of my day. I want to smile more and be joyful. I want people to look at me and think I’m little miss sunshine. I want to look forward to things. I want to be selfless. I want to spend more time with Jesus and pursue Him. I know this isn’t something I can do in my own strength.

I think if I can fake the person I want to be, I’ll eventually be the person I want to be. Who knows… This is why this is a challenge.

If you can relate to this, please feel free to join me on this challenge and let me know how it goes.

If you’re someone who’s done this, let me know how it went! Share some tips!

 

 

Leave a Reply

